NaNoWriMo 2012

October 20, 2012 § 14 Comments

The monster is coming. The stressed-out, coffee-drowned, sleep-less, word-logged monster commonly called NaNoWriMo. The monster that is my best friend and worst enemy. The monster that makes me into a ball of stress that can’t form coherent sentences out loud but also makes me explode with joy and energy.

The first time I participated in NaNo I was a 12 year-old 7th grader, with the writing style of a pidgin who had flown into an apple stores and began randomly picked the keys of an open macbook hoping that I had maybe written something that sort of worked. I wrote a 50,000 word novel about a bunch of people sitting in a car for a day. I’m not kidding. It didn’t make sense. It made less than no sense. It made negative amounts of sense.

Last year I was also a mess. November was a tough month. I made it out alive–as did my novel and my best friend who was having some health problems, but it was hard. It was hard to get through. My novel was a nothing of a thing, like a photograph that turns white when your film hits the light by accident. I’m sure there was a story somewhere, but over it–covering it maybe–was a million useless bits of emotion that clouded the screen of view until there was no story at all. I won NaNo but there wasn’t much to feel proud of.

Obviously, I would like this year to be better, and I think the fact that I haven’t been stressing out because of it months ahead of time may actually be in my favor. At this point I have *no* idea what I’m going to write about, though there are ideas swimming around my head like little fish in a pond–every once in a while jumping up to catch the air in it’s mouth and making a splash–but nothing is concrete. And I hope that nothing will be until I finally write out the words. I like the chance that I’m taking, I even recommend it.

So what are your NaNo Plans, lovely readers?

Photo of the day:

Image

Tagged: , , ,

§ 14 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2012

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading NaNoWriMo 2012 at Comfy Sweaters, Writing and Fish.

meta

