A Poem About Being Fooled and Also About Being The One Fooling

March 28, 2012 § 1 Comment

I am supposed to be doing things. Really, I am. But. I don’t want to. So instead. You get a poem. 

*intro Music*

 

A Poem About Being Fooled and Also About Being The One Fooling

 

I trace my finger along the glass

edge

pulling up the reminants of sugary

liquid-y

pie filling,

and I kick my chair legs to the

beat,

the fiddle music nothing more than

average,

and it must look like–

to the passer-bys

–that I am awake,

alive,

and present,

but really, 

as I let my finger trace around

the circular pan

once more

my mind shoots off

and my body is just a shell

habit

fooling everyone watching

to believing

I am still there.

 

 

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to A Poem About Being Fooled and Also About Being The One Fooling

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Poem About Being Fooled and Also About Being The One Fooling at Comfy Sweaters, Writing and Fish.

meta

