The Curious Case Of Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

March 4, 2012 § 6 Comments

And today I will talk about Paranormal books and also Forever.

*Intro Music*

So. There were vampire books. They were big. They were made of fluff and didn’t have very much beauty in them. But because if them, people started reading, people started writing, and the paranormal young adult romance went off.

There were vampires, fallen angels, pixies, and in this case, were wolves.

Look guys, I’m not going to lie to you. I have read them. All of them (most of them). And some of them I liked. But most of them I didn’t. And I think I have theory about this .

When you write a novel, it should be about something that matters to you. Something that inspires you and gets you going. When you write a novel you should not be writing something for the soul purpose that it will sell, and I think a lot of people did. I’m not saying that they didn’t enjoy themselves writing these books, or expand their minds or whatever, but lets face it, about 3/4ths of those books would not have been published, or even looked at, if Twilight hadn’t happened.

And, I am shameful to say, this got to me a bit.

And by that I mean, I stopped reading young adult paranormal romance.

Like all together.

I didn’t like reading things that had been made in a lab to make a money. It’s why I don’t listen to pop music. (Shawty got a booty like pow, pow, pow/ Shawty got some boobies like wow, oh wow. Yeah, that stuff was really written for artistic purposes and not for hormonal teenagers.)

But because of this decision I stopped reading even books I liked, just because of the fear that they were only written for money. Even books that I loved.

And that is what happened to Shiver, Linger, and Forever by Maggie Stiefvarter.

In the midst of me putting books on shelf because they didn’t have any heart to them, I had put some of the most beautiful books away too, and closed them up.

See, when I was boycotting hot boys with wings, and transforming cheerleaders, I had forgotten the art that Maggie had put into her books, the poetry and the character’s that I loved. I had forgotten the songs, the carefully built palaces of human life in each the wolves.

Something that I’ve picked up over the years is that the best writers, don’t just write. They sing, or take pictures, or paint. They know beauty and the make of it, not just sex and things they’ll think teenagers want to read about.

Courtney Summers has written some of the most startling young adult books of teenage girls that I have ever read, and she’s also a gifted photographer. I personally, don’t think thats much of a coincidence.

And Maggie? She plays instruments, writes song, draws beautiful things and is excellent at stop motion films. (And probably scrap booking, although I can’t verify this one.) Go here for proof. So it’s not shocking that all of her books are immersed in this beauty and vision that someone can only have once they’ve trained themselves into it.

And so when I read Paranormalcy and head-desked, and the new Fallen book and was like “Dude, I can’t finish this,” I had also put away beautiful, tear-worthy books, like Forever without even cracking it’s spine. I never got to lines like, “In the darkness, he is invisible, but I can still feel him beside me. Sometimes you don’t have to see something to know it is there.” Or “The room went dark and, after a moment, Grace whispered that she loved me, sounding a little sad. I wrapped my arms tightly around her shoulders, sorry that loving me was such a complicated thing.

I’m sorry that I missed that the first time around.

**EDIT** Again, go to her youtube. Like now.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to The Curious Case Of Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

  • TayMik23 says:

    I agree with everything you’ve said here. I’m not into the whole paranormal romance craze (especially what I call the Vampire Revolution), but Maggie Stiefvater isn’t like that. Her books have a depth and beauty that completely is not just a person ripping off Twilight’s popularity and is the product of a writer who really connects with and believes in what she is writing.

    • Yeah, she’s really talented. Her books are so original, and she’s one of my favorite authors. She does have a connection with words that I think really makes the books important to everyone that reads them.

  • Coffee Beans says:

    I never really got into the Maggie Stiefvater like you did. I read the first one, and couldn’t go on. I had the same delimma that I do with many of the books I read: while I’m reading it, I love it (yes, it even happened with Twilight). But then I finish it, and I’m like, “why did I just waste eleven hours of my life reading this? It sucked.” and I totally forget about the lines that made me cry.
    I suppose I’m critical by nature. Or maybe I’m just mean.

  • I agree! Though I do admit that I like Paranormalcy. Twilight turned me off of vampire books, quite like the Giver turned me off dystopia.

    I’ll have to remember Maggie Stiefvater, if I ever finish Les Mis.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Curious Case Of Forever by Maggie Stiefvater at Comfy Sweaters, Writing and Fish.

meta

