The Realm Of Possibility By David Levithan

December 18, 2011 § 2 Comments

I woke today mumbeling about the deathstar after a Star Wars induced dream. Why yes! I have been called a dork before! How did you ever know?

*Intro Music*

Today I am going to reveiw something. I know that. I just don’t know what yet. Let me go look on my GoodReads book shelf because Kadence is not answering my texts. (Which is rather rude as she sent me *32* text messages while I was in choir this afternoon.

*Waiting Music*

*Finding Music*

Okay. Got it. I’ll review that book The Realm of Possibility by David Levithan. It is a lovely book you see.

The Realm of Possibility is about teenagers. Fat teenagers, gay teenager, anorexic teenagers, and every other type. 20 different teenagers to be exact, all attending the same high school in NY. It’s written in teenage like poetry, prose powerfully pushing stereotypes and social images out of your mind. And it’s also rather beautiful.

Now, I’ve always been a girl that hates books in verse. I mean, not always, sometimes I rather like it, but usually–usually, I hate it. I hate it, not because I’m a literall person, I’m really not, but because I like hearing people’s though process, how they got to each conclusion they have and why I either agree with it or don’t. When a book is in verse, I always feel that I’m getting the version of ones thoughts after someone scrapped off all of the things that really made it their own.

This book didn’t do that too me.

Although the book is in verse, you can’t tell who the character is that this portion of the book is being narrated by. You can see their character flaws and characteristics–the things that make them them. And although it sometimes does scrape away bits off the fluff over the real issue being attested to, it never scrapes enough for the character to be lost. It only highlights what is being pushed to the surface.

David Levithan, besides being an excellent writer, is just an excellent person. He’s funny and heartfelt and likes to write about the things that he cares about, even if lots of people would rather that he didn’t. Homosexuality, teen drinking and smoking, sex in general, peer pressure, broken hearts and how they heal–that’s the stuff teenagers should no about, not hide from. The things that we are supposed to make our own decisions about. And he puts it all out there.

Best Quote: “I have no idea how he knows when I need him. We can go weeks without speaking, and then, when my blue moods threaten to turn black, he will show up and tell me my moods are
azure
indigo
cerulean
cobalt
periwinkle
and suddenly the blue will not seem so dark, more like the color of a noon-bright sky.
He brings the sun.”

In beautiful poems and songs, in thoughts and voices, stories are told that can’t be untold–shouldn’t be untold. You should read this book.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Realm Of Possibility By David Levithan

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Realm Of Possibility By David Levithan at Comfy Sweaters, Writing and Fish.

meta

