I Love Pens And I’m Not Afraid to Say It

October 25, 2011 § 8 Comments

I was going to do another Episode of Small Things that have Changed My Life (long title, maybe I should rephrase that… later), but obviously there is a more pressing matter at hand. My use of Pens vs. Pencils.

To start this off the right way, I will use a quotation I believe in dearly. That’s right. Hellogoodbye sings it. (I have a bit of a thing for boys named Forest. Tehee.)  “Dear Jamie, I’ve got some things I’d like to set in pen. I would have used a pencil but leads just not permanent.”  Oooh. It just gives me shivers. Shivers I tell you!

And I firmly believe that’s true. If you want something to matter it has to matter for a long time, and if it matters for a long time, it has to show up for a long time. And pencil rubs off, ink doesn’t. Plus permanence is just romantic any way. Never wanting the words you say to change. Never wanting the dialect you choose to falter into oblivion. Wanting what you say to matter so much, that it will be eternally true. *siiiigh*

((Wow. I may have a crush on permanence.))

Anyway, I also love the fact that it’s black. Black words on white paper is pretty. I’m okay with blue too though, although not for writing. For drawing maybe but not for writing. The pen just makes it look… cleaner, I guess. Like I put more thought into how what I was saying looked as well as sounded. I appreciate beauty.

I love holding the pen. I love controlling the ink. I love creating things that won’t go away with an eraser.

Also, as was mentioned in a former post, I really, *really* like writing on myself. Currently I have the words: “Sometime perfection can be perfect/ hell” (-Jack’s Mannequin) on my ankle and the words: “Put you face into my neck and let it all fall out” (-Missy Higgins) on my palm. My wrist is covered in flowers bluming and my fingers have my new favorite blog address written across them. My shoulder, has it’s ever-present heart pressed on it in black ink.

Which is not to say I don’t like pencils. i do. I like them a lot. I’m an artist. I must have erasable writing utensils around sometimes, I just don’t rely on them as heavily as I rely on my black pens.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to I Love Pens And I’m Not Afraid to Say It

  • Liam Wood says:

    Tsk tsk. I, as I have said, prefer the pencil. There’s a charm to moving it and feeling the little scratch and give that a pencil has, unlike a pen which you have to shake, scribble or (maybe) curse at to get it to put down its words. And you can’t correct with a pen. It’s just not so clean to have words in a notebook scribbled out and/or written over. And notebooks are where I write.

    • wreakinghavoc14 says:

      It should be noted, I never use ball point pens. I use ink pens. They don’t run blank until they are nearing the end of thier lives. Also, I break pencils. A lot. I can’t break pen lead. There is no lead to break. I love scribbling over words though to correct! Love it, love it, love it. Scribbling over words have such elgnce with ink. I write in notebooks too.

  • Amanda says:

    I vote for pens… sometimes there is just that one pen that the waiter at outback has that is juust ssooo smoooth and glorius to write/scribble with . besides pencils smudge, pen smudge is pretty

    • wreakinghavoc14 says:

      How many waiters at Outback are you friendly enough with to get their pens? And Outback Waiter Pens would be a good band name.

  • […] Pens or pencils? Pens. Black Pilot brand pens, those are lovely. Uniball pens are THE best, though. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Love Pens And I’m Not Afraid to Say It at Comfy Sweaters, Writing and Fish.

meta

