4 Authors that I Love More than the Average Ones

September 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

An Unumbered List by Sarah Mernaugh.

((There are some major authors that I love that cannot fit on this list. these are not my top favorite just the really Really great ones that are on my mind right now. ))

John Green: This one really goes without saying. He’s writing books that blow me away, he speaks like he just swallowed a dictionary, and he’s probably one of the most average decent guys that are around. He’s half of the Vlogbrothers and on of the people I know I can turn to when I need to know there is a reason for being here. It’s to be awesome and also do good things. Also he knows a lot of random things which he incorporates nicely in his books. I like that. Best Book:  Paper Towns. About a boy who’s in love with someone that’s changing, a town that isn’t real except on paper, and Margo. A genius, a poetic soul, and a beautiful girl. Other great Books: Will Grayson, Will Grayson (co-authored with David Leviathan. I love that man too.)

Melina Marchetta: She get’s it. I don’t really know how else to phrase this. She get’s what it like to be a girl, and what it’s like to be a teenager, and what it’s like to be in love. She get’s that it’s not always about how beautiful something is, but how real it is. And yet, it’s always beautiful anyway when she writes it. It also doesn’t hurt that she’s Australian. Best Book: Jellicoe Road. This book has a road trip around Australia(!!!!), a boy that’s perfectly imbalanced((*swoon*)), a girl that has too many walls around her heart and too many secrets in her stomach, and a beautifully woven story of existence starting years before the plot takes place. Gives me shivers guys. *Seriously, I’m shivering just thinking about. Maybe I need a coat.* Other Great Books: All of them. Go on Goodreads.

Francesca Lia Block: FLB is the perfect antidote for real life. She creates places and people who are so unbelievable, you can’ imagine a world without it. Her books are about things that can’t happen and things that should and the feeling you get deep, deep, *deep* down in your stomach when you see something you want and you can’t have it. everything she writes is magical and colorful and made out of clouds and flowers. She makes me want to spout poetry. Best book: Weetzie Bat Books. I can’t describe them. You have to have an open mind and a nack for the weird but also a knack for the beauty and ugly in the world. And not in the world. This book was written about everything and everything else. Uhg. You guys gotta read it. Other Great Books: Roses and Bones, and How to (Un)Cage a Girl.

Libba Bray: Those of you that know me, know that I would like a shrine of this woman in my bedroom. She’s that great. Her books are about life, but they don’t always say that. They realize the failures and triumphs of our world, but she makes you put it all together yourself.  Which makes you feel smart even when you’re not. The books are all full of awesome and greatness and things that you have to think about for a long time before you understand. Best book: I CAN’T DECIDE. NO WAIT, I DESIDED. NO I CHANGED MY MIND. It’s between Beauty Queens and Going Bovine, both of which are great and great and I am running out of adjectives for this woman but uhg THEY ARE SO GREAT GO READ THEM.

Actually, go and read all of these books. I love them.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 4 Authors that I Love More than the Average Ones at Comfy Sweaters, Writing and Fish.

meta

